October 10, 2007

  • What's a girl to do.

    For added income I've been selling some of my stuff on Amazon.com.  I also sell for Mom, Shelli and Aunt Win.  It's been fun and while I won't be getting rich there have been a few items that I made money on.

    Last week I sold three things - two books and a DVD.  The DVD went to a guy in New Jersey.  I received the order on Monday & shipped the item First Class on Thursday or Friday.

    Monday (a holiday = no mail) I received a very rude email, complete with swearing, asking where the item was.  I emailed the buyer back & told him I'd mailed it already.  Since then he has continued to inundate me with emails, swearing at me, threatening me, accusing me of being a liar, etc.  At first I tried to respond calmly & explain that I'd mailed it and it was out of my hands.  My last response was a bit more irate, in which I just put in very large letters "IT IS IN THE MAIL" & then asked if he had expected me to hand-deliver it. 

    I have reported his behaviour to Amazon but am not sure what they can do about it.  I am really angry at this person, partly because of how rude and unkind he is being and partly because he doesn't know me & is accusing me of all kind of unethical things.  I have had to stop answering him because no matter what I say he just becomes more & more angry.

    For the most part my experience on Amazon and on the Internet as a whole has been positive.  I avoid chat rooms & places where I might run into someone like this.  It is unfortunate that, when "anonymous", people seem to lose the common courtesy they might show face to face.  It's so easy to lose track of the fact that these are still human beings we are dealing with, not just some random computer keyboard without feelings.

    I'm having a hard time concentrating this morning, worrying about what the buyer's next step might be.  I don't think he can do any harm but a bad review is hard to answer.  I'm more afraid he's going to try to get his money back.  He doesn't have any grounds to do so but I really don't feel like a fight right now.

    So I'm going to go take a walk.  At the end of the walk there is an order for blueberry pancakes waiting for me.  then I'll get back to work and remind myself that someone else's impression of me does not define me - especially someone I will never meet. 

    Now if I could just convince myself I don't care...

Comments (1)

  • He's probably some guy who lives in his mom's basement, angry at the world and feeling like "nobody understands him." All the while feeling superior to the rest of the world - kind of like the Comic Book Shop guy on the Simpsons. I post on a Worship message list sometimes, and there's a person or two on there who take offense at everything I ever say, mostly because I'm not a strong follower of Reformed Doctrine. . .I've learned to ignore them, figuring the biggest revenge is that they have to live with their miserable selves.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *